Trump’s Contentious Nomination for Nobel Peace Prize

( – Four presidents have won the Nobel Peace Prize: Theodore Roosevelt, Jimmy Carter (post-presidency), Woodrow Wilson, and Barack Obama. Former President Donald Trump’s name has been submitted for the honor multiple times before and after his time in office. Recently, he was nominated for a fourth time.

On January 30, Rep. Claudia Tenney (R-NY) nominated Trump for a Nobel Peace Prize. According to a press release from the congresswoman, she put his name forward because of the success of the Abraham Accords, which fostered peace between Israel, Morocco, Sudan, and the United Arab Emirates. She also said the former POTUS worked hard to “lay the groundwork” for Saudi Arabia and Israel to normalize their relations.

Tenney pointed out that the Abraham Accords “continue to go unrecognized by the Nobel Peace Prize Committee” even though the prize was awarded for the Oslo Accords. That created a future normalization agreement between Israel and Egypt in 1994.

In a statement, Tenney said international organizations, bureaucrats, and foreign policy experts said peace agreements in the Middle East “were impossible without a resolution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict.” She stated the former president “proved that to be false.” The congresswoman went on to say the fact that the Committee has ignored Trump underscored the need for her to endorse him.

Further, Tenney asserted that President “Joe Biden’s weak leadership on the international stage is threatening” the United States’ “safety and security,” making it necessary to “recognize Trump for his strong leadership and his efforts to achieve world peace.”

Reactions to Trump’s nomination were mixed. Democrats took to X (formerly Twitter) to mock the former president and make obscene remarks about him. Meanwhile, Republicans applauded the decision.

The majority of his supporters said that he deserved the nomination and pointed out the mess in the Middle East since he left office. It will be a while before Americans learn if Trump nabbed the award. It won’t be handed out until December 10, as it has been every year since 1901.

~Here’s to Our Liberty!

Copyright 2024,